Microsoft's new X-Box

Started by
12 comments, last by Wraith 24 years, 1 month ago
Hey everybody, just thought I''d comment on Microsoft''s new console system they announced today at the GDC (go to www.xbox.com if you weren''t there). I have been an avid OpenGL programmer up till now, but with the X-Box coming out in a year and a half I have to wonder about the future of OpenGL. If the console lives up to half of what they say it will it has the potential to completely blow other console systems out of the water. Not only that, PC development will be seriously affected as well. With the X-Box''s only API being DirectX 8, any serious game developers will be pressured to switch to DirectX for cross-platform development ease. Also, some developers may decide to develop only for the X-Box. After all, it is based on the familiar system of Win32 (Windows 200 kernel, actually) and the system is completely known (no more enumerations, yay!). Plus, the specs on the system are so amazing (shadows, reflections, caustics, and more all done on the graphics chip, 64 megs of 200 mhz unified ram, hdtv capable output) that developers may find the X-Box much more able to handle their game ideas than a PC. Just my thoughts, anyone else have any ideas about the future viability of OpenGL (besides cross-platform capability, which becomes unimportant if developers only decide to develop for consoles). Hope I get some strong reactions here, this will be a hot topic for quite some time. Wraith BasketQase Software Current Project: Hollow Point
[email=cdickinson@scu.edu]Wraith[/email]BasketQase Software
Advertisement
I doubt OpenGL will die, but I am really looking forward to Microsoft's console system. I used to tell my friends when Sega Saturn came out that Microsoft would some day blow that away. They said, no way, Saturn is here to stay I've always been a Microsoft fan, so please save the flames Unix(Unimind) people. I like your OS too, but it hasn't opened the doors the way MS has.