• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Micro_Man

??? What is AI (really) ???

This topic is 5820 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey Progammers, I have been reading alot of computer mags lately about programming, and they have all talked alot about AI and how useful it is and what it does. But I got One question... What is AI, and how can a beginner programmer can start making AI programs??? This also leads up to a second question. Can a beginner programmer make AI programs??? Although I have been programming alittle for the past 2-3 years I still think that I know very little, and I would really like to learn more about this subject.

Advertisement
quote:
Original post by Micro_Man
Can a beginner programmer make AI programs???

My opinion is, no. AI is (in most cases) by far too complex for ''beginners’.
If you have already bin programming for about 2-3 years, I suppose you don’t have to call yourself a beginner. Go ahead and try! Go to the resources section and read the AI (If any) tutorials.

There are many levels of AI. If you're a beginner, you can do "beginner's" AI, which I guess would include a program that responds to user input by chopping parts out of what the user says. On the graphics side of things, you could make something to follow the cursor around.

>Hi
>Hello, sir!
>I have weasels in my groin.
>You have weasels in your groin, you say!
>Yes
>Oh my.

Um, yeah.

Later,
ZE.

//email me.//zealouselixir software.//msdn.//n00biez.//
miscellaneous links

[if you have a link proposal, email me.]

[edited by - zealouselixir on May 29, 2002 6:33:02 PM]

According to AI experts, there is no official definition of AI. Everybody has his own definitions.