• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

WonderWorld

PS2/Linux development

This topic is 6039 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi Just wondering if there is anyone here that has bought the Ps2/Linux kit and started developing on it? I just couldn''t resist the challenge . But I guess since it''s about a zillion times harder to code on than DX or OpenGL it would have been great to have a couple of guys working together on a small project to get some 3D on to the screen. I am a pretty competent DX coder so I think I can get something up and running by myself but it''s always more fun to gain insights from other working with the same problem. The first basic mission would be to - Get a math library for the basic, 3D and normal math into the system - Create 3D functions for klipping, texturing etc. - Get an input system up an running - make a basic font system After that a small game is built and who know from there on? Anyone up for the task ? /Joachim

Advertisement
DirectX will get you nowhere on the PS2/Linux Dev Kit. It''s basically running Linux...but on your PS2. If you can do it in Linux on your PC, then you can on the PS2/Linux Kit. OpenGL is very commonly used for 3d on Linux, as well as SDL for 2d, sound, input, and other stuff. Well, have fun on your expedition...I wish I could get a PS2/Linux Kit, but I don''t have a PS2...so I''ll stick with my PC Linux Distro.

--SuperRoy

[My SourceForge Project, ''Snoballz'']
[Google!][Stick Soldiers][E-Mail Me!]
[End Transmission]

From what I know there is no free openGL implementations for the PS2 Linux since it must be very specifically written for using the EE, V0 and V1

/Joachim