Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Concurrency

This topic is 5676 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I apologize in advance for my self-taught graphics programming Ok, so good programming means making the GPU run alongside the CPU. The question is how to go about doing this. As I understand (using DirectX as the example) GPU "calls" like DrawIndexedPrimitive are queued, allowing other CPU processing to occur along side the GPU. EndScene() waits for the queue to empty before going on, but hopefully all of the CPU updating has occurred along side the graphics stuff, so neither processor has to wait for the other very long. Question 1: Is this correct? Is there anything to add to this? Question 2: What is a good programming structure to deal with concurrency? Here is the solution I am currently considering (and sort of using). It would make sense that if GPU stuff is queued, it should be called first. So when I first initialize my world I create the first frame by simply calling Update(

It''s not so much about structuring your code... The problem is that certain calls to the GPU stall the pipeline and the GPU has to WAIT for the CPU to finish. That''s fine during load-time setup but it can be a killer in realtime.

For example, when you lock a vertex buffer in order to render it the GPU has to wait until it''s unlocked. If you do some complex operation between the Lock/Unlock calls, your FPS will drop drastically. A better approach is to save stuff to RAM first and then copy it to the vertex buffer quickly. Actually if you declare the buffer as MANAGED, DirectX does all that for you.