Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

DirectMusic Storing wavs in memory

This topic is 5674 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am new to useing any part of DirectX and I needed to use DirectMusic in my demo I was making so I read the Tutorial that came with the SDK and go it working it made the demo a lot slower but it was good enought for the time but not I need to load those wavs into memory so there is very little proformace hit how do I do this? here is my code right now for opening a sound and playing it on command.

void PlaySound(String FileName)
{
TStringConverter<char> T;
if( FAILED( g_pLoader->LoadObjectFromFile( CLSID_DirectMusicSegment,
                                               IID_IDirectMusicSegment8,
                                                T.AnsiToWide(FileName.c_str()),
                                               (LPVOID*) &g_pSegment ) ) )
    {
    }
    g_pSegment->Download( g_pPerformance);
g_pPerformance->PlaySegmentEx( g_pSegment, NULL, NULL, DMUS_SEGF_SECONDARY | DMUS_SEGF_DEFAULT, 0, NULL, NULL,  g_p3DAudiopathUs);
}

if you have a link to some where I can learn to do this that would be much more sencable then doing it all here I guess.

ummm, you dont load your wavs every time you play them. you preload them at the start. see the sdk. understand what the functions do and how things work. dont just copy and change the code. why are you not pre laoding all the segments at the start? is there any particular reason?