Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

in YOUR opinion what should a 3d engine have? essentials....

This topic is 5665 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

ok so what do u all think a bare minimum 3d engine should have, and be able to do. you guys can throw in a few extras too. im a beginner. and i plan on writing my own 3d engine someday... so what d u guys think?

Hello,
One of importantthing in a simple engine is Skinned mesh !
Loading 3d models - light and ....
So, first step is writing 3d engine !
Then u can add keyboard and mouse controls to ur engine !
And making commnication between all of parts in ur ENGINE !!!

have fun !

In my opinion :

Being able to load and show objects is mandatory

Other important things :
Make the object moves
Lights
Camera movement
Texturing
Space partitioning
Collision detection
User interface/interaction

Some cool features but not esssentials are :
Fog
Skyboxes
Inverse Kinematics
Particles systems

And the most important rule :
Reusable code!

Michel Racicot

I would say try to make an engine that does one thing really really well. This focusses you on one problem, and get''s you into the whole 3d programming area. After that you''ll have less trouble implementing new stuff, as you''ve gained more experience.

Cheers,
Nick

quote:
Original post by JesterX
And the most important rule :
Reusable code!

Ain't that the truth. I bought "Design patterns: blah blah blah",
just for that, if only someone could explain it to me lmao. It's meant to be studied for years, not read in a month. My new bible.

-------------------------------------------------------
"Advances are made by answering questions. Discoveries are made by questioning answers." - Bernhard Haisch, Astrophysicist
"There is no afterlife for a place that started as heaven." - Charles M. Russell