• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

compfanatic

How to learn:

This topic is 6733 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Advertisement
Books are good, but sometimes it is hard to stay motivated. I think the best way to learn is by practicing, coding a lot. If you take a class in c++, you will be forced to complete assignments and it will help you a lot to learn basic c++. After you know the basics, I have learned a lot by books and programming demo''s and examples.

Mike Barela
mbarela@earthlink.net

Everyone''s different. Experiment and find what works for you.

I''m self-taught in C/C++,Java,VB, Perl, and other things. Learned it all through books and online over the last 3 years. It was real slow in the beginning, but eventually things started clicking. I tend to learn faster on my own, anyway.

Some people do better in a classroom environment, though. And I did find while helping a friend of mine with her homework that the exercises they give you teach you things you just don''t think of doing by yourself. I really enjoyed working through some of them.

Again, experiment and find what works best for you.

When I was learning c++, I went to a college''s web page, and completed all the programming assignments that were online. I learned incredible amounts doing that.

Mike

Hi,

I think you will learn programming automatically if you have the motivation to learn. Thus, not just wanting to learn programming just to earn money or because it''s cool.

• Advertisement

Important Information

By using GameDev.net, you agree to our community Guidelines, Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

We are the game development community.