Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Mephs

DirectX debug mode, is it really worth using?

Heyas, just a quick question. When I installed my DirectX SDK, I decided to go for the non debug version (dont ask why, I don't remember =p) Now I keep seeing people say that they recommend the debug version cos it's easier to find faults, but is it really necessary? I mean I'm no DX expert but nothing I have done so far has been impossible to debug just using standard debug features, I've had absolutely zero problems with anything DX related, any problems have been 100% due to incorrectly setting up data structures or small syntax errors (eg the occasional missed semi colon). Is the debug mode really only relavant if your hardware plays up with certain features, or is it useful for other things? Now I'd say I've used quite a wide variety of commands and had no fault with sound, input, graphics, networking or anything at all, is there still any good reason to reinstall the debug version instead? I probably will at some point anyways, but I'd rather do it for a purpose than just for the heck of it =) [edited by - mephs on June 14, 2002 11:17:15 PM]

You''ll appreciate the debug mode when you spend half of your day trying to figure out why all you get from your 5000-line program is a blank screen, post about it here, someone will tell you to use the debug runtime and once you do, it will take you ten seconds to read the error message and fix your bug.