Noob questions: Developing for Wii?

Started by
14 comments, last by S1CA 17 years, 4 months ago
I ran a search through the forums, and found a couple of very old threads that asked the questions I'm about to. They were generally unanswered or only answered with speculation. I have some experience with coding, but I am primarily an artist, so feel free to talk to me like a 3-year-old. 1) What software kits and/or licenses are required to develop code for the Wii? How much do they cost? How are they obtained? Who can obtain them? 2) What is the process for exporting code/assets to the Wii once they're done? How is debugging handled? What hardware/software is involved with the debugging and export steps, how much does it cost, and how is it obtained? 3) (I might have to take this one over to the BoGD forums) What are the legalities of developing and publishing games for the Wii? Can an indie do it (from a legal/financial standpoint), or is it something reserved only for the big developers? What stops me from trying to sell my games online? Anyway, I am honestly clueless on these questions, so I eagerly await some informed responses. I think we all remember the tease Nintendo gave us about the Wii being friendly for "independent developers with ideas bigger than their budgets," and I'd love to know if there was any truth to that. Seems like it could be a huge step in the promotion of indie gaming. Thanks in advance for the help.
Advertisement
Quote:1) What software kits and/or licenses are required to develop code for the Wii? How much do they cost? How are they obtained? Who can obtain them?