2D map, drawing objects C# / XNA

Started by
11 comments, last by MadHaTr 16 years, 3 months ago
Hello, I'm fairly new to all this game programming. I am working with XNA. What I need/want is objects on my map. Examples bases/ships Now my problem. I have a world which is larger than my viewing window(which is what I want) so I had to implement up,down,left,right scrolling. This works great. The problem I have is I have no idea how to add objects to the map and draw them only when they enter the view window. Also have them stay on the right spot on the map. here is the code.

#region Using Statements
using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Audio;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Content;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Graphics;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Input;
using Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Storage;
#endregion

namespace WindowsGame3
{
    /// <summary>
    /// This is the main type for your game
    /// </summary>
    public class Game1 : Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game
    {
        GraphicsDeviceManager graphics;
        ContentManager content;
        SpriteBatch spriteBatch;
        SpriteFont TypoDermic;
        Texture2D worldMap;
        KeyboardState ksKeyboardState;
        Rectangle CamLoc = new Rectangle();

int iCamLocX = 0, iCamLocY = 0, speed =10;
        string CameraLocationX, CameraLocationY;

public Game1()
        {
            graphics = new GraphicsDeviceManager(this);
            content = new ContentManager(Services);
        }

/// <summary>
        /// Allows the game to perform any initialization it needs to before starting to run.
        /// This is where it can query for any required services and load any non-graphic
        /// related content.  Calling base.Initialize will enumerate through any components
        /// and initialize them as well.
        /// </summary>
        protected override void Initialize()
        {