Phun - a 2D physics playground

Started by
143 comments, last by Iderik 16 years, 1 month ago
Phun is an application for creating 2D simulations of physics. It has a cartoony feel to it and is simple and fun to use! Check out this video to see what it's all about:
">
I have been developing Phun for the past six months as my Master of Science thesis, and now it's time to reveal it to the public. Phun is completely cross-platform, it's written in C++ and uses OpenGL for rendering. It also uses SDL (for window management and input), SDL_image (for reading images), GLEW (for OpenGL extension management), boost and boost_filesystem. I use no external physics engine or GUI library. Download Phun here: www.acc.umu.se/~emilk/ (Windows and Linux, soon MacOS) The program is still in Beta, so expect it to crash at least once for you. But don't worry, it has autosave. If you don't trust the autosave, just use ctrl-s a lot. Please let me know what you think of it! - Emil Ernerfeldt Update: I just released beta 3. Hopefully this will run on more computers. [Edited by - emilk on February 19, 2008 6:11:33 PM]
Advertisement
The name is perfect! Very cool.
[size="2"]I like the Walrus best.
That's great - amazing physics, and a very cool interface.

Congrats! :)
Looks phun! Bookmarked for the upcoming OS X version. Looking forward to trying it out.
Quote:Original post by emilk
I use no external physics engine or GUI library.

After watching the video, I'm amazed that you did all of that yourself! That's quite impressive. Have you thought about releasing your own physics library or GUI library?

The game crashes for me at startup. The logfile says:

15:11:50: Application created15:11:50: Parsing autoexec.cfg...15:11:50: Creating window...15:11:50: Destroying GL resources15:11:51: Loading all resources...15:11:51: Destroying GL resources15:11:51: Creating GL resources15:11:51: Reloading class rendering::Texture15:11:51: Reloading class rendering::Shader