Where would I fit in within the gaming industry?

Started by
9 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 3 months ago
Well, I've been drawing my entire life, creating everything from sprites, backgrounds, tilesets,animated short films, to manga, and I have a love for video games, so it seems like an obvious choice to become an artist in the gaming industry right? Well, I'm also a composer of videogame music, and I also want to be a game designer..hm. So my question is, what should I do as a career? I've started a few games, creating the concepts, sounds, music, and art myself (though it was using GM's built in language, so I can't exactly say I'm a programmer). However, this is no career, I need to specialize in something if I want to get anywhere, I can't just say "I'LL DO EVERYTHING". So long story short, where would I fit within the gaming industry, and which am I better at between art and music? Alright, first of all, here's were I stand as an artist.(though there are no example of sprites or tilesets here.) http://kiyru.deviantart.com/gallery/ And here's where I stand with music. http://www.myspace.com/451771111 Some smaller midis and melodies. http://midishrine.com/midi/31786.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/31787.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/31788.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/31789.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/32005.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/32006.mid http://midishrine.com/midi/32007.mid
Advertisement
Wow. I'm really blown away with your music, I love it. (And I'm generally not a fan of that type of music.) Really I think it depends on what field you have the most fun in. It appears as though you could be a good concept artist as well, but honestly, to me, it looks like you should specialize in music if anything and begin expanding your skill-set into different genres and everything else.

The choice is up to you honestly. I love the beginning of "Gear" though, I can't get over that. Do you play the guitar and do the drums yourself?