school choices

Started by
10 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 2 months ago
I'm going to guess that someone probably already asked about this but I'll ask again cause I can't find the thread. How do independent schools like Art Institute, Ringling and Collins compare to going to a true university. Say that I got a degree from an independent school and actually did put in the effort to have a good skill-set ready, how would that compare in the real world for me when a company takes a look? Also, are any of these independent schools offering degrees particularly better than others that anyone knows about?
Advertisement
You'll end up getting the usual "Go to a 4 year University for a computer science degree and make games on the side".

Practical life experience however shows that this doesn't necessarily land jobs. What WILL help though is whichever school you choose, make the most of it, go the extra mile and learn not only in the classroom but on your own. Any college, no matter what will only get you so far. Its up to you to study, learn whatever you can on the side and work on creating a good portfolio by the time graduation goes around.

That being said I did a local tech school for 1 year, a 4 year uni (Penn State) for two years then switched to DeVry and went with their online option. I learn better on my own and have learned much more from an online school then I did at a standard college. Your milage may vary.
If you're serious about game development and have the opportunity for school...might aswell go to a school for gaming. :p

It's best because they will specifically cater to what you need to learn...and there is alot of that. ;)
I do have to agree with the gaming school idea. I have friends who have computer science degrees and three friends who graduated from digipen.

Only the digipen friends have jobs in the game industry.