Factoring Multivariable Polynomials

Started by
4 comments, last by Emergent 13 years, 3 months ago
Hey,

I'm a high school student (11th grade) and I'm working on a computer algebra system for a research project. Most things are are going well (sums, products, derivatives, integrals, series, expansion, complex analysis, factoring basic expressions, etc.). However, I am having difficulty with one key area: factoring polynomials (and, by extension, multivariable polynomials).

I have the book Computer algebra : systems and algorithms for algebraic computation by James Davenport, but the described algorithms in the factoring chapter go way over my head once eigenvectors, eigenvectors, determinants, etc. come into play. I have an undergraduate algebra book which I'm using to self-study these topics, but they are relatively difficult to understand without practical experience provided by an actual teacher. Unfortunately, the highest math class in my school is AP BC Calc (which I'm acing by taking naps during class) but it is miles behind any of this stuff.

My system can factor something like ax+ay+az+bx+by+bz into (a+b)(x+y+z) or x^x*ln(x)+x^x into (x^x)(ln(x)+1) by "reverse distribution", but it cannot factor a^2+2ab+b^2 into (a+b)(a+b), for example - and this is a critical requirement for simplification of expressions like sin^4(x)+2sin^2(x)cos^2(x)+cos^4(x) which reduces to 1 when it is factored.

Does anyone here have any experience with factoring polynomials in computer algebra systems, or know anyone that does? Or, perhaps, does anyone have any resources alternative to the aforementioned book?

Thanks!
Advertisement