C++ Game Programming Beginner Help

Started by
8 comments, last by KingFresh13 12 years, 8 months ago
Hello everyone, I am learning C++ (reading books right now), and I will be going to school majoring in Computer Science, to learn more programming, but at the moment, I want to make a small basic game in C++.

I've looked around, and I heard isometric games are the easiest to start off with, so I think I want to take that approach (unless it isn't the easiest to start with). Now I am having trouble finding an engine that is "beginner friendly", and I can use to create my first game. I was looking around, and I couldn't find any isometric game engines, that are free. As a beginner, I don't want to pay for a game engine, since I don't know a lot about C++ yet.

Again, I am reading books, and tutorials to help increase my C++ knowledge, but I do want to make a small free game, that I can share online, and stuff like that. It's my first game, so I don't plan on making any money from the game.

Anyways... If anyone can offer some knowledge on what engine I should use, then please inform me. Also, if there are any source codes I can learn from, then please tell me about those as well. And if anyone knows where I can find some pixel assets, or game assets (characters, objects, etc.) for free, please tell me.

GAMES I WOULD LIKE TO MAKE:

Simulation (Sims, Tycoon Games, Etc.)
RPG (Final Fantasy, etc.)
Platform Games
Shooters
Advertisement
[font=arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif][size=2][font=arial, verdana, tahoma, sans-serif][size=2]
Is your ultimate goal to make a game? Or is it to improve in C++ by making a game?[/font]

If it's just to make a game, there are some engines out there that will make it easier to focus on making the game. If you want a 2d game, GameMaker is a great tool/engine. If you want 3d games, you can try UDK or Unity (UDK uses UnrealScript and Unity uses JavaScript/C#). But perhaps it's better to make a few 2d games before jumping into 3d.[/font]