OpenGL32 - what is it, where do I get it, and is it worth it?

Started by
8 comments, last by tollingbell 22 years, 7 months ago
I realize this question might be slightly newbie-ish for this forum. If I offend anyone, I apologize. I am a college grad who has used SGI''s OpenGL on IRIX machines, as well as the wimpy GLUT for beginners on Linux. Of course, I''d used these for classes, and game development is an entirely different beast. From my brief use of Direct3D, I understand that Direct3D is much lower level, and OpenGL is (sort of) more like a Direct3D retained mode implementation, except MUCH better and faster so it can be used in games. What exactly is OpenGL32? Does it have a downloadable SDK? Is it a good idea to make a preliminary game engine in OpenGL32 as opposed to Direct3D? The reason I ask this is that I''m not really aware of any games since Quake3 that run in OpenGL; nowadays everything seems to be Direct3D. Thanks for taking time to read this guys. **************************************** A Linux user... by decision, by destiny, and by doom.
A Linux user... by decision, by destiny, and by doom.
Advertisement
Games aren''t made in OpenGL? Anyway: why not use it? It''s just as fast (even a little faster than Direct3D on NVidia based cards, since NVidia''s OpenGL drivers are extremely well written), cross-platform, easy to use, et cetera. You shouldn''t need to download anything to use OpenGL, it comes with just about every compiler (on a 32bit machine OpenGL is OpenGL32). In Windows only 1.1 is supported, but you can access features in 1.3+ through extensions (they''re discussing 2.0 and simply ignoring Microsoft and releasing their own libraries and DLL''s, if you read the notes). NVidia has an SDK for it, but it isn''t needed. The last 7 rewrites of my engine have used OpenGL, and I haven''t found a reason to stop yet .

[Resist Windows XP''s Invasive Production Activation Technology!]