Noob C++ Question

Started by
13 comments, last by f&g 12 years, 6 months ago
Good evening to all at GameDev im very much a noob to C++ and i am looking for some advice to my issue
below is the source to a small program where i get the user to enter there name and then there name is displayed back to them on the screen all this works 100% fine but the main issue is that the console window closes and opens very fast below is the source code

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
std::string FirstName;

std::cout << "Please enter your first name:";
std::cin >> FirstName;
std::cout << FirstName << "\n";
std::cin.get();

return 0;

}

Thank you very much in advance
Advertisement
I'm a total newbie, so take what I say with a grain of salt as you await someone with experience to answer. But, the way I keep it from closing is by adding add a line ("method?") where the user has to enter something, anything. That way, the program doesn't close until the user presses enter even though the program doesn't actually do anything with the user's input.

In Python, it can be input(). In C# it can be Console.ReadLine(). It looks like in your code, it's std::cin.get(), but that's just a wild guess.

I hope that helps.
A 30-year-old interested in learning to program by making an old-school, simple, text-only or 2D dungeon fantasy video game.

• As of 9/28/2011, currently attempting to learn the basics of Python 2.7.
  • As of 10/14/11, Dabbling in C#.
  • As of 10/24/11, decisively surpassed my small knowledge of Python in C#.

I'm a total newbie, so take what I say with a grain of salt as you await someone with experience to answer. But, the way I keep it from closing is by adding add a line ("method?") where the user has to enter something, anything. That way, the program doesn't close until the user presses enter even though the program doesn't actually do anything with the user's input.