Java or C++?

Started by
43 comments, last by rip-off 12 years ago
Hey guys.

Im new to programming. I only started learning about a week ago. My plan was to go through Java and then move on to C++. My goal is to be able to make games (all sorts of games for all sorts of platforms).

I was just wondering if I should bother with Java or just skip it and go straight to C++?

When dealing with engines such as Unity, Cry-engine and the UDK is Java at all useful to know?
Advertisement
Look at the last post.

For the record, I will say that if you're new to programming, do not start with C++. It's a beast of a language.
[size=2][ I was ninja'd 71 times before I stopped counting a long time ago ] [ f.k.a. MikeTacular ] [ My Blog ] [ SWFer: Gaplessly looped MP3s in your Flash games ]
This really depends on what your goal is. If you want to target many platforms as you want, I would said go for Java. But it seems you want to use those engines, most of them have their own scripting language and have an API in C++,. So better learn C++ if you want to use them.

Personally, I would say start with C++ because there is no great difference between the two languages from beginner's perspective. Since you are going to learn them from the very beginning anyway. And select one platform first for your initial project before targeting another platform.
I do not think you should skip anything in favor of C++. It's a terrible starting point. I'm not fond of Java and would push for Python or C# instead, but definitely not C++.
SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
C++ will burn you and make you regret things. You need a fairly deep understanding of various concepts, including all the nasty little dark corners of memory management, before you should take it on.