Simplest/Most complicated Rpg game engine design?

Started by
1 comment, last by Acharis 11 years, 12 months ago
Hit there i am fairly new in game development. Only made some small 2d space shooter. However me and my friends decided to make a simple 2d rpg style game engine/game written in Java.

First of all we decided it will be Tile based (without animation at least for now) and we plan on making it isometric in the future since it is just a matter of output.

We wanted it to be simple but powerful. So i got an idea and it goes something like this.

We make a game engine that doesn't have a lot of gameplay coded. It has understanding of what and item is it has an inventory but not the actual items.
It is divided in packages:

1: Central_command

2: Graphics

3: Input/output

4: Memory menagment

The idea is to have a lot of classes in central command. With in a way has access to everything witch usually means the memory. A map will simply be a txt file that has a roguelike based ascii map and a script for all object's on it if any. For example Wall is hardcoded but a potion of health is not.

The scripting system wont be complex. It only has to be able to store variables, use if, else, while statements and most importantly to communicate with central command.

This is the idea.

Have and object that represents the loaded script. place that object inside and Item class. class Item has a use/passive method.
A health potion will be an item with a corresponding image and script that will be invoked when the use() method is called.
The actual script will be something like this:
" player = Command.getCurrentPlayer(); player.setHealth(player.getHealth() + 20); "

I know that adding scripting ability to your engine is probably the hardest task. But it really simplifies other aspects of your engine. Because it is not needed to code all the stuff right in.

Is this the way to go or not?