Advice for a USA foreigner that wants to develop some gamez!

Started by
-1 comments, last by Andres Urquijo 11 years, 8 months ago
Hello everyone!
I live in Colombia, and I am interested in moving in to the USA and find a job, hopefully in the gaming industry. So right now I'm the process of scratching my head and thinking: "How the hell am I supposed to do that?". But first, a bit of a backround; (You may skip the following backround paragraphs written in italic and get straight to my questions if you'd like).

I am what you would call a 'college dropout'. I began studying physics like a century ago, did well until mid-career then things suddenly declined until I ended up leaving the university (college) for several reasons. That experience left me with a bit of all around knowledge. This includes of course programming; I have some experience in java and Matlab, and basic knowledge of C#/C++, Fortran and Mathematica....
After leaving college I began pondering what I wanted to do. Getting a job is was the first thing. Going back to college... not so much. The one thing that I still felt passionate about in my state of depression was games and the idea of creating them.

So about 3 months ago, I started learning how to make flash games in AS3. By now I am pretty fluent with the syntax (it’s pretty much java with graphics) and with CS5. I'm working on a platformer to learn a bit about collision handling and animations. I have lots of unrealistic ambitions and platonic fantasies about this game (its still in 2D though). So I won't be finishing this any soon and will probably work on another simpler parallel project to get "the whole experience" as is often suggested by many gamedevs. So far, I feel like I have the prerequisite knowledge and mental skills to the programming side of things. Maybe not so much on actual game designing, I’m still planning 'on the go', so I may need to read a few books on that.