A set guideline for beginning video game programmers!

Started by
10 comments, last by EddieV223 11 years, 7 months ago
Hello Everyone! biggrin.png I have recently been highly interested in game development, especially the programming side of things. I have been learning C++ for the last 3 months or so, but... I just don't quite seem to have a clear vision/view/guideline for getting into game development! ~sigh~ So... I made a console text Tic Tac Toe game, and I was like, whoa! that is cool!
- http://www.imageurlh...Tic-Tac-Toe.png
-thank you image hosting site!- http://<a href="http...age Hosting</a>

[color=#800000]But then I think, oh man, this is a loooong way away from 2D games!(which is what I want to do for now), but you know, motivation keeps me typing away at this so I'll continue.
[color=#800000]~I'll ask questions on behalf of the aspiring beginner game developers out there! XD
So when I was first learning C++ I thought everthing was hard to understand. When I saw someone's code of their console Tic Tac Toe game I went 0.0 and has no idea what was going on. The thing is, a few months later I knocked out the game in an hour with no problem! So my learning process seems to be in steps. 1 -Learn the basics of C++. 2 -Make a simple console game Tic Tac Toe! 3 -???????

So now you know what I have accomplished and I will tell you my thoughts on getting a grasp on making 2D games, but I have a few questions first~

~~What programming language should I start out with?
-So I heard C++ is a hard language to go with first, but I like the logical design of it! I can't help but keep going with it. Should I switch to Java since it seems it has basically everthing a beginner would need?

~~Just how much work do I need to do before I can get into making 2D games?
-I do not know if I should jump right into learning a simple 2D graphics library like SDL or SFML or Allegro. Should I learn C++ really well, THEN move on into a graphics library?