starting game engine

Started by
17 comments, last by ATC 11 years, 6 months ago
Hello everybody!!

First of all, sorry for my english... I'll try to do my best!!

I am studying videogame programming, and this year I'm going to do a basic game engine.

I'm searching about information like physics, math, libraries, how to start, etc.

I have the basics, a window class that open a window, a basic input class, my general personal types (int8, uint16, etc) and a clock class that test the velocity...

If anyone knows webs, topics in this web, tutorials, etc. please share this wisdom with that poor programmer!! happy.png

Thank you very much!!
Advertisement
When it comes to physics, math, etc., you will have to ask a more specific question. Your current questions are too broad.

Generally people will use existing physics engines such as Bullet. Trying to write your own will be too overwhelming at your current level.
You will also need to specify the rendering API you are using. If DirectX 9, you can use the DirectX math library. This will however tie you closely to DirectX, meaning no chance of porting your engine in the future (though since it is just for learning that may not be a problem).
Otherwise, you can find how to write vector and matrix classes easily via Google.

My site aims to document the creation of a next-generation engine and has tutorials useful to beginners.

Fixed-Time-Step Implementation
General Game/Engine Structure
Passing Data Between Game States

L. Spiro

I restore Nintendo 64 video-game OST’s into HD! https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCtX_wedtZ5BoyQBXEhnVZw/playlists?view=1&sort=lad&flow=grid

Write games, not engines: http://scientificnin...mes-not-engines
If you, after reading the article, still want to write a game engine. Continue reading.

What can the game engine you have in mind do? Is it capable of cross-platforming(Windows,Mac,Xbox,Ps3,etc)? Do you want to work with Win32, DirectX, OpenGL, etc?