mouse input

Started by
25 comments, last by 21st Century Moose 11 years, 5 months ago
i want to use mouse input for my pong game, should I use direct input?
Advertisement
Use SFML! It's great and you can use it for commercial use if you want to! It also includes sounds and I forget if it includes anything else. It is also free. I also found a pong tutorial with SFML!

Licensing: http://www.sfml-dev.org/license.php
Pong Tutorial: http://www.gamefromscratch.com/page/Game-From-Scratch-CPP-Edition.aspx
I am using dx9

I am using dx9

Yes, however normally people who use DirectX or OpenGL use SFML, Allegro, or SDL for input because it's easier. It's really your choice however. I'd recommend either using Allegro or SDL, because with SFML you have to do a lot of extra stuff to capture input with it. You can either use Direct Input or an Input Library, with the latter being easier. If you're main goal is to learn all about DirectX however, you can use Direct Input.

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

I am doing my best to learn dx9
Well if you want to learn DirectX strictly then using Direct Input would be your best bet. Later on if it gets too difficult you can progress to an Input Library, but you seem smart enough to be able to handle Direct Input :)!

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!