High-level and Low-level languages.

Started by
5 comments, last by Pointer2APointer 11 years, 5 months ago
Hi, I'm a beginner in the world of programming, I was just curious, what are high-level and low-level programming languages, and what are some examples of those, also any example will be helpful. I hear those terms quite a lot and I don't know what it means.

Thank you.
- Manny
Advertisement
Wikipedia is your friend for examples.

At the lowest (reasonable) level, you will have Assembly code.
Slightly higher level you'll have languages like C and Fortran
At a higher, but still low level, you'll have languages like C++ and D
Then higher up, languages like C#, Java
Higher up again you'll get things like Haxe, JS, Python
At probably one of the highest levels, you'll get languages like Prolog, Haskell, Agda

The lower the language is, the more closely it will match the underlying machine architecture, Assembly you're working with mostly individual machine op-codes with a human friendly name. C adds things like named variables, scopes, expressions etc. Once you get to the level of Haskell, you're very well removed from underlying architecture almost all together.
What languages are "low-level" and "high-level" can be a matter of perspective... A "low-level" language is a language which is more closely attuned to the underlying architecture of the machine, whereas a "high-level" language is more "human-friendly" and abstracted...

If you ask a web developer or Python programmer what C is they will tell you C is a "low-level" language... but if you ask an OS programmer from a Linux project they will probably tell you C is a "portable, high-level programming language"... However, all will tend to agree that assembly languages are low-level because there is generally no abstraction whatsoever -- just op-codes that represent binary operands...

Please visit our new forums and help us test them and break the ice!