A General Question In Relation To Quests For Your Game

Started by
7 comments, last by Iceblitz 11 years, 4 months ago
Hey there,

First off the bat I'd like to inform you that I'm a noob, I've been coding for less than 5 months so please don't bash me if this is an obvious question to be asking.

Anyways, I've been using the unity engine to practice coding, as I'm not bad at making models. I've been messing around and wanted to make some kind of quests in my little game. What I would like to make are basic pick up quests or kill quests, with a reward system.

For example, In my game i have health, enemy, attacks. So I'd like to maybe have an npc to give a quest like so:

Go kill 10 wolfs, rewards a rusty sword. And when you've killed 10 wolfs you get the reward. Or collect 10 apples, when you have them you get the reward.

I assume you'd need to make a storage database of some sorts to have this done, I've been trying to research this myself but I can't find anything remotely helpful. I'm hoping someone very kind with a heap of experience can point me in the right directions and hopefully give me some links to tutorials or something of that nature.

Anyways, thanks for taking time out to ready my query,

Nick
Advertisement
I'll toss out some ideas on how I might approach the problem and hope that helps.

• I would probably create quests as a hidden inventory object that is effectively a container of prerequisites, requirements, rewards, etc. This would provide an easy solution for saving your quest state, as they would effectively be saved using the same mechanisms you save your inventory state already.
  • I would consider treating quests as an inventory item of sorts, that you can simply equip an NPC with in order to make them a quest giver. Talking to NPCs would check all the quests in their inventory to see if your character currently meets the 'prerequisites' in order to be offered the quest(good enough faction, high enough level, etc).