Advices for a brand new face

Started by
2 comments, last by Ludus 11 years, 1 month ago

Hi guys! I am a student in his Freshman year in high school. I'd just like to put it out there that I'm extremely serious about coding and computer science.

I already learned HTML (and CSS) and Javascript. I decided that first I'd explore the website-related language and go into the software making languages. I'd love to learn to make games and I would love to have some help. Here are some of my questions:

1. What programming lang should I learn first? I don't care about the whole 'it's too hard for beginners' or 'you should start small and go big' so please give the most efficient and useful program lang.

2.I've been looking around and saw lots of IDE, compilers, APIs, library. Do I need these to make games with a program lang? What do I need to make a website-based game and a game that is software-based.

3.How should I begin making graphics for games?

4.Also, any general tips that you can give me would be greatly appreciated! smile.png

Advertisement

Where to start first is kind of like Dorothy asking the Scarecrow which path to take in the Wizard of OZ.!

First - If you already do not know, Software is used for all Console, PC and website Games. That is the program.

IDE stands for Integrated Development Enviroment ( IDE ) This is where you type in your code / program

Compilers come with most IDEs available. Such as C++ .

Your APIs and Librarys are made to enhance the capabilities of the languages. Depending upon which language you choose and which release, some of the older most used libraries have been incorporated into the languages. For Example Visual C++ 2010 will not need the same libraries as Visual C++ 6.0, they have been added to it