Beginner here, need a starting off point

Started by
2 comments, last by mawigator 10 years, 11 months ago

The only programming language i know (barely) is Java, i'm looking to make a game that will mainly be a point and click game strategy game, and i have no idea where to start. Should i start programming in a Java IDE or try to use a engine. I'm completely new to this so any help is appreciated. If the best thing to do is to use a engine, i would prefer a free one.

Thanks, looking forward to my time here.

Also does anyone know much about Stencyl, is a good way to make games, like a point and click game.

Advertisement
A point and click game shouldnt require much. An engine would probably just get on the way.

You probably can make a simple one with java alone, as it oretty much requires only the ability to get input and draw images which i assume are provided by java built in.

If you need more advanced features, googling will usually find comparisons and suggestions which you can then compare. I have practically no experience with java so cannot give any suggestions.

o3o

How much graphical imagery will there be? If you have a lot of art assets planned, then I say use a game engine such a jMonkey.