Write old opengl or new OpenGL?

Started by
13 comments, last by FGFS 10 years, 6 months ago

Hi everyone. I am new to OpenGL and also to this forum.

I wanted to know which are the benefits of using the newest specifications of OpenGL. Is it not better to use the older versions so more computers are able to run my game?

I ask this because I have been reading this online book Learning Modern 3D Graphics Programming and it uses newer version of OpenGL than mine and I can not even compile the examples.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

You can still use GL 2.1 and not use the deprecated functionality. Ie, use your own/3rd party math/matrix lib... Use VAO/VBO shaders, etc.

The benefit to using modern OpenGL is that it will work on most computers (phones, tablets etc), whereas the decades-old version won't.

Stephen M. Webb
Professional Free Software Developer

The benefit to using modern OpenGL is that it will work on most computers (phones, tablets etc), whereas the decades-old version won't.

Oh, really? I didn't know that, in fact, I thought it was the other way around(that older versions where more portable).

Then I wonder why I culdn't compile the examples of the book I said.

I get this error message:

tut1.cpp:10:32: error fatal: glload/gl_3_2_comp.h: No existe el archivo o el directorio

Which means that the file or folder doesn't exist.

Thanks for the answer!

You're getting errors because you probably don't have your development environment set up correctly.

Direct3D has need of instancing, but we do not. We have plenty of glVertexAttrib calls.

I don't use any IDE I use g++ under ubuntu 13.

The version of OpenGL is 2.1.

Thanks!

I'd guess modern OpenGL is far better - in terms of both, support and writing in it.

Anyways having OpenGL 2.1 seems like you're having either old integrated GPU, or something is terribly wrong with your graphics drivers.Can you tell us what GPU/drivers do you use?