Networking and Collaborating

Started by
2 comments, last by bschmidt1962 10 years, 6 months ago

I'm looking to do some networking with high quality studios, especially in Maryland and other east coast states in the US. I'm new to sales in this industry so I'm trying to get a little jump start. I have a solid understanding of communication and business development, but the gaming industry is a new beast for me (in terms of B2B relationships). So where do I start?

My goals are to:

- find businesses interested in outsourcing their art and/or their mobile app/game development, or all of the above.

- develop solid, lasting relationships with people working in the industry. (Networking)

- pitch my company's services to industry leaders, producers, publishers, and developers.

- settle deals and help my company get the development process kickstarted with our clients.

If you have experience please enlighten me. I will pick up on things as I go, but I was hoping to get some legitimate advice to get the ball rolling. Thanks.

Advertisement

Join the local IGDA chapter.

Subscribe to Gamasutra and GamesIndustry.biz

Go to GDC Next (in about 3 weeks) and find out about other events and go to those too.

Don't be just a talker -- be a listener.

http://sloperama.com/advice/lesson54.htm

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

so you are just in the "finding" stage? Definitely what Tom said.
As far as closing deals is concerned, the video game industry can try your patience: big partners will take their time.
Big relationship X took us 3 Dice to close a deal with. They are picky about who they deal with but these guys pick one developer per platform 'forever' so its well worth ir.
Otherwise keep on the lookout for Rfps with mysterious middlemen. Its a good way to start something with important businesses.
Finally, cold calling :)

- develop solid, lasting relationships with people working in the industry. (Networking)