What on earth is Far Cry 3's Deferred Radiance Transfer ?

Started by
11 comments, last by TheLastOfUs 10 years, 5 months ago

an someone be kind enough and explain their GDC slide to me:

http://fileadmin.cs.lth.se/cs/Education/EDAN35/lectures/L10b-Nikolay_DRTV.pdf

I just need a nice detailed description of what the system essentially is with their "probes"

From what I gathered...they use spherical harmonics to deduce irradiance in a scene, and the dynamic objects sample nearby probes - using a sort of voxel cone tracing on the camera which calculates for X+1 and Y-1 shift so that they don't have to essentially render every probe outside of players view?

Please note, I am not a game programmer..nor do I want to be one. I am just a consumer trying to gain better understanding so that I can keep up with Current Gen vs Next Gen etc

Advertisement
Probes are a view of the scene from some specific point of view. They've been extremely common in film for a long time, under the name IBL (image based lighting).

You can "compress" a probe down to SH data, which makes it smaller, but blurrier.

The innovation in FC3 is solving the problem of figuring out which probes to use when shading each pixel. The probes are arbitrarily scattered around the levels, so this is a search problem.

FC3 chose to compress the probes, and copy them into the cells of a regular 3D grid covering the view. Instead of searching for the nearest probe, you can find it instantly by reading the grid cell that you're in. Instead of searching for the nearest probe, they can always find it at a constant cost -- this allows them to use any number of probes that they like; millions across the island if need be.

This lets them add diffuse IBL extremely cheaply (the probes are pre-generated and stored on disc) to every pixel.