"Programming Game AI by Example" - your opinion?

Started by
4 comments, last by Rybo5001 10 years, 2 months ago
I read that the book "Programming Game AI by Example" is a good beginner book for learning to program game AI.
But I also read that the code examples in the book are C++. This I guess won't be a problem because Java is similiar to C++ (will it be a problem?), but I still don't have any idea about 3D game programming. I'm still studying 2D. Would the book be useful to me even if some of the examples (I assume) are for 3D implemetations? (are they?)
Also, your general opinion on the book would be great.
This question obviously is for anybody who read this book or some of it.
Thanks
Advertisement

I don't recall anything in the book focusing on 3D implementations, if there were any they weren't emphasized on enough for me to remember. Most of what it focused on was implementing AI in a 2D game environment. Here's some of the things the book goes through:

• A quick primer on on Math and Physics.
  • State machines.
  • Steering behaviors/Navigation.
  • Group steering behaviors.
  • Sports simulation.
  • Collision detection.
  • Graphs and a few graph search algorithms.
  • Pathfinding.
  • Scripting in Lua and writing an interface to invoke C++ code from Lua and vice versa.
  • Goal driven behavior.
  • Fuzzy Logic.

I really loved the book, as it helped me understand the basics with clear and detailed wording and source code, and helped me learn quite fast. It covers most of the basics really well. Looking back at it now, I'd say it doesn't cover some newer algorithms and techniques, an updated version would be very nice. To make the learning more fun for myself, I didn't use the provided 2D engine (I think there was one), but instead wrote a lot of the sample code from scratch to fit into my own 2D engine.