Help me plan my next move.

Started by
5 comments, last by confusedcoder 9 years, 10 months ago
Hi guys. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what I should do for my next move. My inside perspectives are having a hell of a battle and I’m at the point where I need some outside perspective to tip the scale…

Any advice/input/comments/quips/queries are much appreciated! Thanks.

My Current Situation…

1. I’m 27
  2. I work in Pittsburgh, PA at an enterprise software developer as a Build and Release engineer.
  3. I have an interest in game design and game production.
  4. I have a dual major degree in Computer Science and Information Systems
  5. While I was in school (for computer science, yes, I know) I didn’t like programming that much, so I didn’t do any “programming on the side.” As a result, I don’t consider myself that great of a programmer.
  6. I have dabbled in game design all my life, but I have nothing to show for it. I could make a bunch of excuses as to why, but I’ll just leave it at “I’ve got nothing.” I’ve got a bunch of little things that aren’t polished and don’t matter and I don’t want to show them off.
  7. I really want out of the company I work for. I need to get out of my current job for multiple reasons, but I don’t know how to use my experience from my current company to get a job in games.
  8. I’ve been applying to game dev positions for a while, but avoiding contract and temp positions out of fear (if it’s this hard to get a job in game dev, do I want to be looking again in 6 months?)

Here are my options, as I see them…

Go Indie

1. I have plenty of ideas, like everyone else, and maybe 2 or 3 ideas that are really solid and I think they would sell.
  2. I don’t really have the money to go indie and support myself while developing a game.So I’d have to stay at my current company while working on the indie game. Or try to get a job somewhere else in the Pittsburgh area (that isn’t games).