Novel Idea for a game -

Started by
5 comments, last by Tom Sloper 9 years, 10 months ago

I am in my final year and doing a game in Unity. The professor has clearly stated that the idea needs to be novel and not some clone or usual ideas.

I don't quite get it. So does that mean I have to forgo all the common RTS, FPS, RPG, puzzles and so on type of game ideas and come up with a completely new one? Counter strike was one of the previous FPS games that I can think of and now we have Battlefield 4 and so on. So does that make Battlefield 4 no longer novel or it is novel in its own way?

Wanted to make an FPS game but honestly having a major creative mental block to find something novel about it. Can I get some ideas.

Advertisement

I don't think your professor expects you to invent a new game genre, but I think he's best suited to answer that question than anyone here. If you have doubts about your task, you should ask him.

On the other hand, if you need an original idea for a game, this generator sometimes provides interesting ideas.

So does that make Battlefield 4 no longer novel

Actually this is probably a bad example because there is nothing Novel about Battlefield 4.

Maybe your proffessor means something like a FPS with No guns or an RTS where instead of telling units what to do, you are an actual unit and the computer tells you what to do.

I think he just means don't make a clone, When I was in school the students would just make clones of whatever game was popular at the time.

By "Novel" I think he just means an original concept inside one of the genres. I'm sure he's just tired of seeing super mario and counter strike clones.

Needed to fix this I somehow didn't read your last line, If you want to make an fps you have a few options. Try coming up with a new multiplayer game type,

or add a fresh feature to make a single player game "pop".

Off the top of my head-