First time prototype

Started by
5 comments, last by GoCatGoGames 9 years, 8 months ago

Hello there,

this is my first post so i'd like to give a little background.

I'm a software engineer since 2004, and i work as a freelance web developer since 3 years. While i've worked with C, C++, Java, C#, Php, and other languages and i consider myself a good skilled developer, i have never had experiences with game developement, though i''ve always wanted to. I'm aware that this will be someway a brand new start that will require a brain reset and i'm ready to engage with all the necessary humility.

That said, ive had some ideas id like to work on, the final result should be an open world / sandbox adventure in first person, first version pve oriented, then maybe work on a new version that would involve networking to make a mmo version of the same game.

I want to ask 3 main suggestions.

1. Prototyping

I would like to realize a first, basic prototype to test the idea solidity. Since i actually lack the requested programming skills, not to mention the art, ai, rendering, etc notions, i am thinking about some alternatives.

a) Work on a isometric 2d prototype (ultima online style), that i imagine to be much easier as a first experience

b) Work on a moddable game that would provide the majority of art/map/gameplay elements. I am also a Dayz and arma2 player, i'm aware arma2 supports mods, and that map/environment/feeling is very close to what i'd like to achieve. I would be glad to hear from you guys other moddable games

c) Build a prototype from scratch, directly on a 3d engine that should however provide basic art/texture/objects/etc. so that i should not worry about them.

2. The engine

Assuming i pass over the 1st step, i will need an engine that provides good support for

a) sandbox environments

b) networking / mmo

Assume that i plan to have a huge map to be explored (again, think about arma2)