Newbie Game Dever

Started by
5 comments, last by DarkStoorM 9 years, 5 months ago

Hey all, just introducing myself. I'm Chris and hopefully will be starting my journey into game development. I'd really like to start developing mobile games. I have a basic understanding of programming, yet haven't produced anything myself. I definitely don't have any graphic design abilities so it's going to be hard. I do understand there's far more to a game than just a single person. Maybe if I'm lucky I'll meet some like minded individuals and put something together. Good meeting you all!

Advertisement

Welcome. And, nice to meet you too :)

You're not alone in the lack of artistic skills, all my projects look like something a 5th grader's parents would put on the fridge :P

Beginner here <- please take any opinions with grain of salt

Welcome and good luck ahead!

Welcome aboard sir. Typically the lounge (Forums -> Community Interaction -> GDNet Lounge) is used for things like introductions. The For Beginners thread is more for specific questions when you're starting out in your GameDev career.

Be sure to read the beginner's FAQ. :)

- Eck

EckTech Games - Games and Unity Assets I'm working on
Still Flying - My GameDev journal
The Shilwulf Dynasty - Campaign notes for my Rogue Trader RPG

If you lack artistic skill but would like to be able to produce something of usable to good quality, have a look at the "visual arts" forum on this page. Lots of other people were in your situation before and this subforum is full of useful advice about how to make the best of the limited skills everyone has.

Welcome aboard and let me tell you there never has been a better time to start with game development... maybe its not a good time to get rich with it, with all the other people, indie or not, competing with you tongue.png...