How to come up with an Art Style?

Started by
2 comments, last by Koobazaur 7 years, 2 months ago
Hello,

I am not an artist, but I wish to improve my process when making "programmer art" for prototypes/first alphas. I figured I should go back to the start and ask what the overall process for coming up with a visual style is, from earliest concepts to final assets? Mind sharing your steps/checklist/methods?

Any good article / book / resource that outlines the process?

--------------------------------------------

On my end I usually do this:
* Consider the themes, main ideas and what the overall style should be
* Create a visual reference list (Games, movies, books, photos, painintings, web sites, etc.)
* Make a few mock ups for some of game scenes or elements (key locations, characters, key items, ui, etc.)
* Get feedback and iterate mockups
* Produce / find final assets

Do I have the process right? What do You do?

I did a bit research and read about graphic designers / artists also preparing Mood Boards or Design Bibles. Would those be worth adding in? Anyone use that and can pitch in?

Thanks!

(Reason I'm asking: my process has not been very successful, with gamers often criticizing my early art. One issue I discovered is lack of consistency or "sloppy" work. I'm not sure if it's the process itself or if I'm just not spending enough time on it).
Comrade, Listen! The Glorious Commonwealth's first Airship has been compromised! Who is the saboteur? Who can be saved? Uncover what the passengers are hiding and write the grisly conclusion of its final hours in an open-ended, player-driven adventure. Dziekujemy! -- Karaski: What Goes Up...
Advertisement

That process is very much like what I do, aside from adding a color palette. I tend to come up with some terrible color combinations if I don't plan ahead to make them all harmonize. This is kind of like a mood board I guess?