View more

Image of the Day

Isn't this a lovely apple tempart placeholder thing  #gamedev worth a #screenshotsaturday even I would say. https://t.co/fQH1d0ySIG
IOTD | Top Screenshots

The latest, straight to your Inbox.

Subscribe to GameDev.net Direct to receive the latest updates and exclusive content.

Audio Integration into games?

2: Adsense
  • You cannot reply to this topic
4 replies to this topic

#1 w00ds   Members   

0Likes

Posted 21 February 2017 - 03:41 AM

Hi all,

I'm Callum, I'm 23 from the UK. I'm a newbie music composer and sound designer. I just finished studying Music Production at BIMM London and have been recently looking in to getting in to the video game industry.

I made a showreel of games that I have reworked to feature my own music and sound as a reference to my capabilities, which I will link at the bottom of this post.

At university I worked with wwise, fmod and unity, and so have some experience integrating music in to games on a basic but functioning level. I was kind of hoping that someone would be able to help me understand how it usually works for the indie game composers.
For example, if I were to agree to do sound for a game tomorrow, what would generally be expected of me? Just the audio side of things and a basic understanding of audio integration or an in depth programming or coding knowledge? Are there any particular programs I would be fully expected to own, or does it completely vary from one project to another?

[Classified wording deleted by moderator]

Thanks, Would love to hear your thoughts.

My Showreel:

Edited by Tom Sloper, 21 February 2017 - 09:50 AM.
Classifieds

#2 Syntac_   Members   

2Likes

Posted 21 February 2017 - 04:09 AM

Working with audio middleware tools (Wwise/FMOD) and in-engine experience (Unity/UE4) yeah. Programming, no.

I think it's good to have had experience with Wwise and FMOD while at Uni as these are very popular audio middleware solution for games.

#3 w00ds   Members   

0Likes