Good keyboard for programming and gaming

Started by
13 comments, last by Gian-Reto 7 years ago

I recently decided to buy a new keyboard. I've never used a mechanical keyboard before, and I keep hearing about how awesome they are, so I did some research and picked out the Das Keyboard 4 Professional (with MX Brown switches). Everyone who's reviewed it seems to say it's the best keyboard they've ever owned, but I've been using it for a few days and... I'm not sure I like it very much. I haven't owned very many keyboards in my life, so either I've peaked too soon, or it just isn't for me.

The overall design is fantastic: the construction feels extremely solid and the media controls are well thought out. However, I dislike how stiff the keys are, and the key depression distance feels a bit too deep. Some of the larger keys have a different sound and feel than the others; the backspace key in particular wiggles a bit more and sometimes makes a high-pitched squeak when pressed. The resting angle is fairly flat, so I have to hold my arms up in an awkward way when I type on it. I don't particularly mind the lack of back-lighting or macro keys, but for $170 I'd expect the absence of extra features to mean that everything else was perfect.

It's kind of disappointing, because the simplicity of this keyboard is super refreshing. Most others I checked out looked like what you'd get if a you bred a spaceship and a Christmas tree. Having two USB 3.0 ports on the back is a great addition as well, and something I haven't seen on anything else.

As for replacements, I'm currently looking into the Corsair K70. I'm hoping the shorter bottom-out distance will make it less exhausting to type on, while still providing a nice crisp feeling. As for the lights, I'm planning on setting them to somewhere between 'white' and 'off'.