The C++ programming language

Started by
11 comments, last by eedok 18 years, 4 months ago
I am a high school programmer with no income. Is there a major differance in content between versions 2 and 3 of Bjarne Stroustrup's The C++ Programming Language because theres a major difference in price. Thanks
"Are you threatening me, Master Jedi?" - Chancellor Palpatine
Advertisement
The 3rd special edition doesn't seem to cost that much (see here), so why not just pick up a used copy of the latest edition instead of a used copy of the older one?
"Walk not the trodden path, for it has borne it's burden." -John, Flying Monk
there's 4 easy steps here
1. Get a library card
2. Take the book from the library and become an expert C++ programmer
3. use your newfound C++ skills to make $$$'s
4. use the $$$'s as either a donation to the founder of C++, and/or buy the book then.
Quote:Original post by eedok
1. Get a library card
4. use the $$$'s as either a donation to the founder of C++, and/or buy the book then.

Except that many libraries don't have good books on C++. I would suggest going straight to mcdonalds, working a few weeks, and then buying the book.
Quote:Original post by Sagar_Indurkhya
Except that many libraries don't have good books on C++. I would suggest going straight to mcdonalds, working a few weeks, and then buying the book.

Seconded... Libraries suck - hardly anything practical... the only sections I've found even remotely useful is the history section and the xbox they put in to attract the kids. If you can, check out any universities around you for old computer science text books which are usually sold for dirt cheap. I have a friend who bought "D&D C++: How to Program" for an absurd ammount which I inherited when he had completed his course.

Other than that.. you just missed christmas! Why didn't you ask for it then?
What we do in life... Echoes in eternity