Promoting myself as an artist on the Internet

Started by
18 comments, last by Jarrod1937 17 years, 8 months ago
I apologise to people who deserve it. This topic might be of interest to many (depending on the quality of the replies), although it is not programming-related. My aim is not to invoke a discussion (or even to promote myself really), but merely to seek advice (on how to promote myself). I'll try and be concise. I am an artist working in the electronic music field (as slightly more than a hobby, but greatly less than a full-time job). Unfeatured - I've had close to zero exposure. And I'm not familiar with how to impose myself on what-not it is that I should be imposing myself on. The problem is that I don't have the money to hire an agent and I don't have the time, or that other thing - interest - to do the lobbying. Simply put, I'm looking for the simplest, most easily exploitable way(s) of exposing my work electronically. As things are, just uploading something is pointless - you need a catalyst of some sort. Since this really is not the place to advertise myself, I'll post the two links that you can click to listen to my stuff with a note of discretion. Sure, you're free to comment, but comments and a friendly pat on the back are not (no longer) that which I'm really looking for (you can pat away, though). my MySpace account my AudioStreet account The sole reason I'm posting this thread in the Lounge instead of the Sound and Music forum is the combination of two ratios: experience and exposure - you can figure out the rest. If anyone sees this as blatant self-promotion that shouldn't belong here, feel free to close this thread. The promotional section of this post is: you can always distribute the above links to your friends if you're inclined to do so.