Large-scale ActionScript multiplayer game networking (client and server)

Started by
5 comments, last by Sirisian 15 years, 6 months ago
I am considering the possibility of, within the next few years, completely remaking my browser-based MMORPG (which has been quite successful so far) into an entirely Flash/ActionScript-based MMORPG. After recently having begun to work with ActionScript, I have also begun to integrate ActionScript with PHP and MySQL by having the client make calls to web pages. It's easy enough and can produce awesome results in minigames, though obviously I have strong doubts that this would be the fastest method in a large, real-time game. Now my question is this: how best should a large-scale, real-time multiplayer game be set up in terms of networking for both the client and server? I have plenty of experience in C++ (though not quite in networking, so that will require much research, of course), and I imagine that the best solution may be to write the server in C++ and the client in Flash/ActionScript. If this is the case, I am looking for a heads-up on where to start researching the related ActionScript networking information so that I may research it extensively and first gain experience in multiplayer Flash programming before starting the potential remake. Also, although a bit off-topic, which database software (if any) would you recommend using in the C++ back-end?
Website (with downloads of my games)
Blog (updates on current projects)
Seeds of Time Online has returned!
Advertisement
You might want to look into SmartFox server.
First; thumbs up - c++ and as works very well together.

I also strongly recommend action script 3.0 to 2.0, because as 2.0 is not able to easily send binary data over the network, while as 3.0 has ByteStream objects where you can do ByteStream.WriteInt(2132); etc.