[GLSL] pushing matrices onto the ModelView Matrix

Started by
9 comments, last by TheBuzzSaw 13 years, 11 months ago
In moving to OpenGL 3, all the transformation functions (glRotate, glTranslate, etc.) are deprecated. I am studying GLSL right now. I understand the principle of how shaders work. Vertex shaders are run on every vertex; fragment shaders are run on every pixel, essentially. I see that vertex shaders commonly end with this very logical step: gl_Position = gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * gl_Vertex That is handy and all, but exactly how/where/when do I push matrices onto the ModelViewMatrix? How do I pop them? I am very comfortable creating my own matrices if I have to for all the needed transformations, but exactly how do I do it? Let's take a simple example. How would I rotate my scene 15 degrees? In the olden days, I simply called glRotatef(15.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f); where do I do that now?
Amateurs practice until they do it right.Professionals practice until they never do it wrong.
Advertisement
You have to calculate the matrices yourself. Either make your own matrix class or find a math library. When you have generated the matrix, send it to the shader as an uniform...
Yeah as stalef said you don't use gl_ModelViewProjection matrix anymore, you just build your own.

For your glRotate example, look up "Axis-Angle to Matrix Conversion" on google. This will teach you how to build a rotation matrix from an axis-angle pair, which is similar to the glRotate command. From this you can build your own matrix class, which you can give a function like "matrix.Rotate(angle,x,y,z)"

Or you can just find and use a matrix library, I'm sure you can find some good suggestions here though I don't have one.
[size=2]My Projects:
[size=2]Portfolio Map for Android - Free Visual Portfolio Tracker
[size=2]Electron Flux for Android - Free Puzzle/Logic Game