As a one man team, would it be possible to make these kind of games?

Started by
13 comments, last by rwtwm 10 years, 8 months ago

Hi everyone! I'm pretty much new to everything regarding game development/design, and programming in general. I know it's not going to happen anytime soon, as I still have a lot of learning to do, but eventually I want to be able to develop/design games for mobile devices. Something like Bloons TD 5 Mobile( so a tower defense game) and Castle Clash (a society building game.)

I know I am an extremely long way from making anything like those games, but I was just wondering... Is it even possible for a one man team to make games like those? And if possible, about how long would it take your average person (with no day job) to make something like that?

As I said I'm new at this, so if I left out any needed information, just say so and I wil reply as soon as I see it. I look forward to learning a lot here, and this will be the first of many questions that I will probably have!

Advertisement

1. As a one man team, would it be possible to make these kind of games?
2. how long would it take your average person (with no day job) to make something like that?

1. Anything is possible.
2. Most mobile games take 3 to 6 months to make with a team of 4 or 5. So, one person could do it in 12 to 30 months... after the learning curve (which might take 4 years) (that's the length of a college education).

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com