How do you handle your low end in game music production?

Started by
8 comments, last by nsmadsen 1 year, 4 months ago

I'm new to the realm of game design but I've been producing my own music for 8 years. Normally you want to work to have your bass elements be strong and poke through the song when needed, is mixing bass any different when it comes to game design? I would imagine you wouldn't want your bass to be too heavy for the majority of gameplay. Is there a frequency cutoff or any methods used to make game music easier on the ears and allow for the rest of the sound to come through?

None

Advertisement

Great question!

It depends on what engine you're using for your game. Many commercial ones (Unity, Unreal, etc) will have built in audio features that act much like a DAW would. This helps manage and balance your game, especially when you consider the dynamic nature of games and the fact that you can have sound design, music and dialog happening all at once in some situations. Often you can get even more options if you select an Audio middleware like FMOD or Wwise.

If it's a custom engine, then it really depends on what feature(s) that custom engine supports. I've worked with engines that had EQ, compression and even side-chaining to help manage all of the various signals.

Hope that helps!

Nate

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

All what i can say is, the music cant capture the attention too much from the game itself, but must help the player to flow into the mood of the level regardless. This limits the genres. For example i wouldnt allow dubstep, hardbass and other similar manure into my games, because those are distubring. But it also cant be jazz and other type of low effort fake music, because thats totally worthless and fails to create any mood. But i dont think it has anything to do on how you are mixing the bass itself. Obviously no vocals.

Geri said: