Getting past the language barrier?

Started by
8 comments, last by GeneralJist 1 year, 2 months ago

Hello,

So I'm out there looking for a dpt lead and I get this applicant who is very energetic, very passionate, from a different industry, but English is not his native language.

I interviewed him earlier today.

When interviewing applicants with ESL, what do yall look for to make sure he can understand and do the job?

Our company homepage:

https://honorgames.co/

My New Book!:

https://booklocker.com/books/13011.html

Advertisement

I used to work in the semi-conductor industry, and I would say well over 50% of our department was from outside the US (our company was based in Santa Clara California), many were from Asia. Since I was a software engineer, I would often interview people applying for programming jobs. It took me some time to develop an interviewing strategy, but what I eventually started doing was asking candidates to explain some well-known algorithms and also explain solutions to problems that they had come up with. Basically, ask pretty technical questions. The idea wasn't to make them uncomfortable or anything. You want to ask questions that they should reasonably know. And even if they don't know everything, they should be able to answer some of the questions. I've seen a lot resumes with tons of buzz words on them, but when you actually start to ask questions, some candidates seem to know very little.

In your case, you would also get them into a technical discussion in English, which I think would tell you a lot about how well they will interact if they get the job.