Looking for some advice

Started by
2 comments, last by GColumbu 10 months ago

Hello!

My name is George, and I'm 23 years old. Recently, I graduated from university where I studied computer science. For my bachelor's degree project, I decided to create a 2D pixelated game called EpicRun, which I absolutely loved working on. My dream is to become an indie game developer, and for my first major project, I want to develop a mobile game for kids with graphics similar to "Clash Royale" or "Clash of Clans." While I'm proficient in programming, particularly Java which I also use at work, I have limited knowledge about game development

I built the EpicRun game using the libGDX framework in Java, and I became quite skilled with it. I did everything from 0 and I was quite thrilled with the finished product, even scoring a 9.5/10 for my degree with it. Since this will be my first significant project, I want to ensure that I document everything thoroughly from the beginning. The game I'm planning to create will be for mobile platforms, and I'm uncertain about whether I should continue using a framework like libGDX (which supports mobile game development) or switch to a game engine like Unreal (I will have to learn this one, but from what I've seen I don't expect to be a major challenge). I've heard various opinions about the advantages and disadvantages of each option, and I would greatly appreciate any insights you can provide.

Additionally, I want to mention that I actually paid for the graphics in EpicRun because I lack artistic or design skills. Considering that replicating the art style of "Clash Royale" won't be a simple task, I'm wondering if I should hire someone to handle the artwork for me, which would save me time, or if I should invest the time to learn how to do it myself and save money. I would greatly appreciate your feedback and insights on this matter.

Can you help me make a decision? Thank you!

Advertisement

GColumbu said: