What am I Looking for in a computer

Started by
41 comments, last by Juliean 2 months ago

I want to start making Games. However I have No computer and No experience. I've tried looking online but it's hard to find a guideline for buying a computer. So I'd like to ask for some advice in this field.

Advertisement

That depends on your interests. But first a question which will help us helping you: You say you have no experience. Do you mean

a) programming

b) using computers

c) playing (including game consoles)?

@undefined Thanks for the reply. It's both a and b.

OK, then I hope you have already played on a game console. If not, it would be a difficult start.

Especially important is: What kind of game do you want to write? And what graphics? 3D? 2D? (Good 3D hardware is more expensive)

Here some introduction to the topic (doesn't answer all your questions)

https://www.pcgamesn.com/best-gaming-pc

Pebblerubble said:
best-gaming-pc

@seamus_arian , “gaming” almost always refers to the playing of games, as opposed to the making of them. The website cited is for gamers (people who play computer games), not for programmers.

Also, what device did you use to visit this forum and post here? Is it unsuitable?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

You are right that there's a theoretical difference between gaming PC and game development PC. But if a different hardware is used how does a single programmer develop games if he can't playtest them?

Pebblerubble said:
You are right that there's a theoretical difference between gaming PC and game development PC.

There isn't.

There is a difference though between a console and a related console devkit. And because we can't just buy a devkit, we can not develop console games.

Seamus_Arian said:
I've tried looking online but it's hard to find a guideline for buying a computer.

If you want to make a game for the PC platform, any PC or laptop will do.