DirectX vs. SDL vs. Allegro

Started by
11 comments, last by Strider81 21 years, 4 months ago
Hello, i''m new to this community. I have been programming for a few years now (i''m on comp sci 3rd year). I know fairly well how to program in C/C++, Java. However I''ve never really made anything with Graphics involved. A short while ago i tried making a game using SDL. However, it seems that most people recommend directx. just out of curosity why is this? i tried learning DirectX (from that windows game guru book which i personally think sucked), but it seems overly complicated. There is tons of code just to open up a simple window! and to be honest i don''t quite understand all of it. My other question is does anyone know a good place to start learning how to program using directx (please don''t recommend any books by andre lamothe, i don''t think i shall purchase any of his books again)...thanks =D
Advertisement
Start Here
Here
Here

[edited by - Machaira on December 12, 2002 2:09:58 PM]

Former Microsoft XNA and Xbox MVP | Check out my blog for random ramblings on game development

What? No ''vs. OpenGL''?
Chess is played by three people. Two people play the game; the third provides moral support for the pawns. The object of the game is to kill your opponent by flinging captured pieces at his head. Since the only piece that can be killed is a pawn, the two armies agree to meet in a pawn-infested area (or even a pawn shop) and kill as many pawns as possible in the crossfire. If the game goes on for an hour, one player may legally attempt to gouge out the other player's eyes with his King.