pacman clone level design question

Started by
4 comments, last by xtrmntr 23 years, 7 months ago
This is my first attempt at designing a game so i pick something everyone knows, pacman. Havent run into too many DX probs but now i''ve come to the point where i need to design a way of drawing the levels. I was thinking of using tiling but in my findings of the old classic game im not quite sure how to go about mapping the tiles out. So there is no confusion, my question is not pertaining to HOW to tile so much or how i store and read a level. When i look at how the levels are laid out i cant see a good way of drawing the tiles and using that to do bounds checking, character movement, etc. I know i should keep it simple the first time but if it looks blocky it will take away from the eye candy. incite welcome.
Advertisement
A good way to design tilebased levels is to use a text editor like notepad. eg:

''#'' = wall
'' '' = open area
''.'' = normal pill
''*'' = power pill

then, when you design a level, you just use notepad to create something like this:

###############################*..........................*##.############ #############.##.#.........     ..........#.##.#.##### ################.#.# .#......*          *........#.#.#.############### ######.#.##.#.........     ..........#.##.############ #############.##*..........................*############################### 

You can make the map data as detailed as you like, eg you can have different characters to represent corner tiles, start positions, teleports etc. You dont really need to do anything fancy for collision detection, just check to see if the tile the players is trying to move into is a wall, and if it is, dont let him move there.
Excellent idea using PacMan.

It allows you to be a programmer instead of a game designer.

!!! READ THIS !!!!