Why use a Linked List?

Started by
15 comments, last by Thrawn80 19 years, 3 months ago
I'm sure LLs have their uses. However, I can't think of a place where they would be better suited than, say, a dynamic array. The book "Data Structures for Game Programmers" gives an example of using a dynamic 2d array of single linked lists so that each tile in a 2d game can have any number of layers. Now, I see how this can save memory (since each tile only has as many layers as it will use). Is this beneficial in practice, and not just in theory? There's more overhead when dealing with a linked list, and checking the "status" of a specific tile/layer will take longer than if I used an array. Why not just have a dynamic 2d array of dynamic 1d arrays? I guess I'm just not getting the benefit of using a linked list. So, any personal experiences with using a linked list in a game, where a list was actually better suited than any other data structure?
Advertisement
im no expert on this topic, but..

i believe lists are the best data structure to use when you are doing inserts and deletes from the middle (or either end) of the container.
FTA, my 2D futuristic action MMORPG
I used a linked list when I wrote my Half-life level viewer. I used it to store the entities (worldspawn etc). This was written in C, so today I would probably use an STL vector. I didn't know how many entities there were in the file beforehand, so I used a linked list. Each time I read a new entity I added it to the list. I didn't need to be able to quickly locate items in the list because the entities weren't used that frequently.

Some advantages over regular arrays:

- easy to sort (just swap pointers)
- easy to insert/delete items (just change the pointers)

Umm, I can't think of anything else at the moment :) Of course, if you were using C++, it would probably be wiser to use the STL.